Lutz Cafe and Pastry Shop-Mixed Berry Tart

Lutz Cafe and Pastry Shop is simply divine. This time-warp bakery has a long line of various pastries and desserts, a quaint outdoor patio, a friendly staff, and extremely generous portion sizes.

IMG_3038[1]

I stopped by this sweet shop on Western and Montrose on my lunch break. I was in awe of the lovely array of specialty desserts and got two of their most popular sweet treats, the Mixed Berry Tart and Rum Ball.

IMG_3036[1]IMG_3037[1]

I cannot emphasize enough how delicious their Mixed Berry Tart truly is. The delectable chocolate coated shortbread pastry shell alone would be the perfect dessert, but topping it with Bavarian cream and the freshest of fruits is a stroke of genius. I know exactly what dessert I want for my birthday next month!

Next up was the massive Rum Ball. This brilliant concoction  of a vanilla cake pastry completely soaked in rum, coated with a hard chocolate shell, and chocolate sprinkles is so mouthwateringly good. When you bite into the chocolate shell exterior you get a taste of the impossibly soft pink-hued rum infused vanilla cake. This dessert was definitely a favorite as well.

The pretty little outdoor patio behind Lutz was a perfect place to enjoy my desserts and Viennese coffee in a quiet oasis. They also sell their own coffee grounds for anyone who wants to create the Lutz experience at home.img_30261.jpg

IMG_3043[1]

If you want to know how Lutz makes their lovely cakes they have a video here:

I highly recommend this European style bakery because of their long history (baking cakes since 1948!) and connection to Chicago’s tradition. Also, the free Wi-Fi and B.Y.O.B. policy doesn’t hurt.

IMG_3035[1]

If you liked this post please check out my past reviews on Sugar Fixe Patisserie’s $2 macarons, Blue Sky Bakery’s scones, and Fish Bar’s $5 S’Mores.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this fourth edition of Chicago Sweet Treats and that you come back for more! Follow me on Instagram and Twitter to keep up with my sweet adventures, or drop me a line at chicagosweetreats@gmail.com.

Have the sweetest day!

xoxo, Charlene

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

